Israel Agreement 1948

Hamas won the Palestinian parliamentary elections in 2006, the first and only truly free Palestinian elections. Hamas leaders rejected all agreements signed with Israel, refused to recognize Israel`s right to exist, refused to give up terror and sometimes claimed that the Holocaust was a Jewish plot. Hamas` withdrawal and victory have left Gaza`s status unclear, with Israel claiming that it is no longer an occupying power, but that it continues to control air and sea access to Gaza, even though it has no sovereignty on the ground. Egypt insisted that it was still occupied and refused to open the crossing points with Gaza, even though it was free to do so. [238] Prime Minister Yitzchak Rabin and PLO President Arafat signed the Israeli-Palestinian interim agreement on the West Bank and Gaza Strip in Washington on 28 September 1995. The agreement was attested by President Bill Clinton on behalf of the United States and Russia, Egypt, Norway and the European Union, and replaces previous agreements that mark the conclusion of the first phase of negotiations between Israel and the PLO. The agreement allowed PLO leaders to move to the occupied territories and granted autonomy to the Palestinians, with discussions on the final status. In exchange, the Palestinians promised to renounce the use of terror and amended the Palestinian National Convention, which had called for the expulsion of all Jewish immigrants after 1917 and the elimination of Israel. Eleven minutes after midnight, the United States de facto recognized the State of Israel. [23] Iran (which had voted against the UN division plan), Guatemala, Iceland, Nicaragua, Romania and Uruguay followed. The Soviet Union was the first de jure nation recognized by Israel on May 17, 1948,[24] followed by Poland, Czechoslovakia, Yugoslavia, Ireland and South Africa. [Citation required] The United States extended official recognition after the first Israeli elections, as Truman had promised on January 31, 1949.

[25] In accordance with General Assembly Resolution 273 (III), Israel was admitted to the United Nations on 11 May 1949. [26] Israel has signed arms with Egypt (24 February), Lebanon (23 March), Jordan (3 April) and Syria (20 July). No peace agreement has been signed. With the entry into force of a permanent ceasefire, new borders of Israel were created, which were later known as the Green Line. These borders have not been recognized as international borders by Arab states. [164] Israel had control of Galilee, the Jesreel Valley, West Jerusalem, the coastal plain and the Negev. The Syrians continued to maintain a strip of territory along the Sea of Galilee, which was originally attributed to the Jewish state, the Lebanese occupied a tiny territory in Rosh Hanikra, and the Egyptians retained the Gaza Strip and still had some forces encircled in Israeli territory. Jordanian troops remained in the West Bank, where the British had deployed them before the war. Jordan annexed the territories it occupied, while Egypt kept Gaza as an occupied area. A 120-seat parliament, the Knesset, first met in Tel Aviv and moved to Jerusalem after the 1949 armistice. The first elections were held in Israel in January 1949.

The Socialist-Zionist parties Mapai and Mapam won the most seats (46 and 19 respectively).